Wright State golf captures Horizon League championship

The Wright State golf team won its sixth Horizon League title and first since 2004 as they came from behind to seal the victory Tuesday afternoon at the El Campeon Golf Course in Howey-in-the-Hills, FL.  WSU was down four strokes at the start of the final round on Tuesday but won the championship by eight over Northern Kentucky.  The Raiders will be making their fifth NCAA Tournament appearance.

Placed on the All-Tournament Team from WSU were Bryce Haney and Cole Corder.  Haney, a sophomore from Huber Heights, OH, finished second overall just three strokes from the medalist spot with rounds of 74-72-72=218 while Corder, a freshman from Powell, OH, ended third overall with scores of 78-71-71=220.  Austin Schoonmaker shot 74-75-76=225 to finish tied for 10th.

“I’m really happy for this team.  They put a lot of trust in me and have bought into what I’ve asked them to do and today was the first time it clicked for all of our guys on the same day,” WSU head coach Brian Arlinghaus said.  “We got great play from every single one of our guys but more importantly they carried themselves in a professional manner and exuded confidence at all points today.   Our goal was to stick with our individual game plans, stay in our bubble and be disciplined.   I told them last night at our meeting if you can just give me those three things tomorrow that we’d have a good chance at winning this thing.  They did and we did.”

As a team, the Raiders were steady throughout the tournament and strong on the final day, shooting 302-298-288=888.  The final round of 288 was the best team round of the tournament by seven.  Wright State was third after the first round and second after round two.  WSU started the final day just four strokes back of first place Northern Kentucky, gaining significant ground during the round.  WSU shot a par 288 for the final round, seven strokes from Oakland and 12 better than second place NKU.

“I played my best. I left it all out there,” Haney said. “I was more focused on the team winning anyway. That was more important to me.”

The 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships selections announcement will take place on Wednesday, May 1 at 9 p.m. ET, on Golf Channel’s Golf Central and streamed live on the Golf Channel website. Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conductedMay 12-15 at six sites, including Pullman, Washington; Stanford, California; TPC Myrtle Beach in Murrells Inlet, South Carolina; Simpsonville, Kentucky; Athens, Georgia, and Austin, Texas.

The Raiders won Horizon League/MCC championships in 1996, 1997, 2000, 2003 and 2004 with a Mid-Continent (now Summit League) title in 1993, making four NCAA appearances. 

1. Wright State, 302-298-288=888
2. Northern Kentucky, 298-298-300=896
3. Youngstown State, 305-298-296=899
4. Oakland, 300-305-295=900
5. IUPUI, 310-298-295=903
6. Green Bay, 308-296-307=911
7. Cleveland State, 316-309-304=929
8. Detroit Mercy, 323-300-312=935

WSU Individuals
2. Bryce Haney, 74-72-72=218
3. Cole Corder, 78-71-71=220
T10. Austin Schoonmaker, 74-75-76=225
T16. Mitch Lehigh, 76-80-72=228
T29. Nathan Arnold, 79-84-73=236

All-Tournament Team
Cole Corder, Wright State
Bryce Haney, Wright State
Marc Norton, Oakland
Colin Sikkenga, Oakland
George Kneiser, Green Bay (Medalist)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s